1 Following

Thoughts of a Junkie Reader

opinions & ramblings of a passionate reader

It's Colleen Hoover! Enough said.

Finding Cinderella - Colleen Hoover

Finding CinderellaFinding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love it! Oh who am I kidding? It’s Colleen Hoover and I love and WILL love everything she writes.

When I read on her Facebook page that it’s already on Kobo I downloaded it right away and didn’t stop reading until I finished it. I definitely needed one of her books what with my luck with my previous reads. And all I can say is best novella ever! It’s sweet, fun and heartwarming with the best characters you could ever read. And if the prologue alone didn’t pique your interest, I don’t know what will. I also love Daniel’s family, the weird nicknames, the pretending, Holder and Sky scenes, the funny lines, Breckin, of course Daniel and Six and basically everything! I just wished it’s a bit longer, like a whole book. Hehe. Or maybe we’ll get more in the future?

I think it’s safe to say that Colleen Hoover writes the best male pov. And every story she writes is simply phenomenal!

I can now go on a reading hiatus happily. :)

Very Bad Things (Briarcrest Academy, #1)

Very Bad Things (Briarcrest Academy, #1) - Ilsa Madden-Mills

Very Bad Things (Briarcrest Academy, #1)Very Bad Things by Ilsa Madden-Mills
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

What did I think?

It would have been nice but the characters especially Nora and Leo turned out to be ridiculous! They deserve each other.

Thanks for the help Shelly! :)

View all my reviews


Nocturne - Andrea Randall, Charles Sheehan-Miles Seeing that this is written by two authors whose earlier books I loved, I couldn't wait to read their collaboration. Sad to say it didn't work for me. This is a book of complicated and conflicted feelings and I think I felt the same way. I had a hard time getting into the story and had this been any other book by another author, I would have abandoned it after few chapters.The plot was interesting and the style of writing was as expected brilliant but I didn't like the characters particularly Gregory. I actually despise him. I get that in the beginning he was thinking about his career and Savannah's reputation but he led the poor girl on and next thing he did was break her heart. Fast forward to a few years and he's still selfish and manipulating as ever. And now there's a new casualty, Karin. What he did was for me the ultimate downfall of the story. But then again maybe he wouldn't be much like that if Savannah learned to say no. At least they got their happy ending or it would be a total bummer.

A Little Too Far

A Little Too Far  - Lisa Desrochers I'm kind of torn between 3 and 4 stars so l guess I'll settle with a 3.5 - a little above average. What made it so? Well for starters, the plot though basically a love story and a little illicit is unlike anything I've read before, specifically of the NA kind. It's a bit messed up but it's easy to read and the pace is just right, not too fast nor dragging. The characters are also appealing and I'm definitely glad who Lexie ended up but I also feel bad for the other guy. But he's getting his own book so all is good. This story has the right amount of drama, angst and romance and I did like reading it. So why not a little higher on the rating? It's because I'm not gaga over the story and a 3.5 is more than an ok kind of read for me. :)
Love's Second Chance - L.P. Dover 3.75 stars. Yes the heroine suffered from a great loss and she deserves to be happy but I thought her relationship with Galen was too perfect, sometimes overly sweet. The last nine chapters redeemed it for me though proving it to be a heartwarming story of a second chance in love and life.
Fearscape (Horrorscape, #1) - Nenia Campbell Poetic stalker alright. Sick, disturbing, creepy 3.5 stars.
In the Fields - Willow Aster This book made me a swollen, puffy mess! I’m not really into historical fictions but since I’m already a fan of Willow Aster then I just had to read this. The story basically deals with a very sensitive topic of discrimination. I ended up loving this book even though I seemed to cry all the time I was reading. This book hurts! I hurt for Caroline for all she’s been through in her young life and I hurt for Isaiah for being a victim of an unjust humanity. At the age of 15, practically a kid, Caroline had to deal with the harsh reality that is her life. Her parents don’t appreciate nor deserve her and a friendship between her and Isaiah evolved into a relationship frowned upon by many. Unfortunate events thus follow but as they say true love always finds its way back. “I will always be grateful that we were given another chance, and when hard times come, I will know that we’ve already endured the worst. We can handle anything as long as we’re together.” Several characters like Dr. H, Ruby, Brenda, Sadie, Shelby, Miss Greener, Miss Sue and of course Davis and Gracie also made this story special. Willow Aster is without a doubt an amazing author. She created a brilliant story, a story not just about love but also about the triumph of the human spirit. This story deserves more than 5 stars! I love it!
The Other C-Word - M.K. Schiller A surprisingly nice read. It was sweet, sexy, funny with just the right amount of drama enough to make one teary eyed. The characters are also well written and as a whole can actually find no fault in this story.
Out of Line - Jen McLaughlin, Diane Alberts A short, engaging read though a bit predictable. Reminiscent of the movie First Daughter.
My Unexpected Forever (Beaumont, #2) - Heidi  McLaughlin Despite the fact that Katelyn's behavior reminded me so much of an immature, indecisive character in a new adult novel, Harrison and the kids more than made up for it hence the 4 stars. :)
Mirage - Ashley Suzanne Most reviews are so intriguing I had to read it myself. Did the story live up the hype? I don't think so. In fact I almost gave it up but I had be fair in my rating and judge the book as a whole and not only a percentage of it. So here you go Mirage, 1 star for you! Sorry but that's all I can give. The only part I liked in the story is the prologue and nothing else, not even a single character. And Mira's realization of her love for Skylar is unconvincing. She's so ridiculous I suggest she gets her head checked.
Learning to Live - R.D. Cole I knew I would be moved by this story after tearing up in the first chapter! It was nice to finally read a new adult romance with an independent, strong woman as a main character who didn't annoy me. Trudy is one of those inspiring book characters for despite what she'd been dealt in the past, she didn't turn out to be helpless and vulnerable. As with Jax, he's not one of those college guys often described as a womanizing jock. He's this sweet and determined guy and a loving brother who was perfect for Tru. I also liked Jazz and can't wait for her story. And I hope there will be a lot more of cute little Cohen in the future.So I guess what I'm saying is that I enjoyed reading this refreshing story of survival, acceptance, love, and of a woman's strength to move on. “I’m thankful for being alive and for the circumstances that led me here. Good or bad, they made me who I am and without them I wouldn’t be here with you.” - Trudy 4 moving and refreshing stars!❤

All Our Yesterdays

All Our Yesterdays  - Cristin Terrill Ever read a book you don’t want to end but at the same time can’t wait to finish coz you want to know what happens next? Well for me, this is that book!So here’s what happened, I was just looking around here in Goodreads when I came across a book described like this: “A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time. All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.”And since I’m a big fan of THG, that reference piqued my curiosity. Well they got it right, this book is amazing! I am so buying a hardcover for my shelf. But before you get any ideas, this is not a second rate imitation of THG, it’s a unique and fantastic story all on its own. It’s a mix of dystopia, sci-fi, romance and mystery. What else can you ask for? The scenes are fast paced, will keep you at the edge of your seat intense and the love story is so heartwarming. It was also beautifully written as evident with the two points of view of the same character. I know it’s not made to be a tearjerker but whatever, I still cried. A lot! Especially during the scenes with James and Em. There even came a point when I wished it to be just like the ending coz it hurt too much! But I wanted them all to be there!!!Good thing there’s a sequel. But the best news? It has been optioned for film! ☺
Breeze of Life - Kirsty Dallas Cancer, best friends, road trip. Emotional right? I swear I'm not heartless but all I felt reading this book was disappointment. Yes it's nice of Harper to be there for Bree but I felt like he was doing it with ulterior motive, what with half of the book with his sexual innuendos. I think I just expected more. I would have liked it if there was a specific bucket list to cross instead of their 'never have I' game. And how come a 23 year old woman has no other friends except a 15 year old she just met?! Nevermind. At least that 15 year old was the one admirable character in the story. Overall it was just an ok read for me.

From Now Until Infinity (Infinity, #2)

From Now Until Infinity (Infinity, #2) - Layne Harper Colin McKinney might be the only reason I decided to read the whole book. Oh and a little of Brad. Charlie annoyed me. What's up with her "what ifs"? Pointless. And personally I don't need to be constantly reminded of your heights and eye color. So yeah I think the first book is better than this one. Will I read the next book? Depends on the blurb.

Falling Into Infinity (Infinity, #1)

Falling Into Infinity (Infinity, #1) - Layne Harper There maybe a few similarities with other stories out there like the guy changed from being a womanizer and the girl has her own issues but at least there's gradual relationship build up and not the cliche kind. There is enough time for the main characters to know each other well before they became a couple. I think it's sweet that Colin asks Charlie to marry him everyday. But of course like any other relationships, they have their share of problems and issues. You think they have conquered Colin's popularity and Charlie's baggage but no, it's a different story when it's love versus dreams...Yes the story line may not be new but I was still sucked into the story I didn't realize I'm almost done. Reading this was like a breath of fresh air. Just the right mix of romance and drama. Even better is to discover that it's a second chance romance, my favorite kind of read. :)